Jesus Is Lord!

Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. Phil 2:9-11

Jesus is Lord!
I want to declare that up front because I read an article about a popular TV evangelist that never mentions Jesus or Christ in his messages.
I’m not too familiar with all of his sermons, having only watched a few. I witnessed the lack of scripture used during the few I watched.
The article I read was about an obscure tweet made by him.
I visited his Twitter and read (or glanced) at tweet after tweet. There is a mentioning of God and a Father or two scattered around.
It appears he sends two tweets a day so I read back two months – that’s over 120 tweets and no mention of Jesus by name.
I find this disturbing.

1 John 3:23 – And this is His commandment: that we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ.
Jesus is the name above all names.

2 Thess 1:12 – that the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and you in Him,
When you mention God, I’m not sure about whom you speak. In college I met a Muslim and asked why he prayed a certain direction each day. The answer is he prays toward Mecca but he misunderstood my question and shouted, “I pray to God!”
Yet his god and my God are not the same.

Rom 1:16 – I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes,
A follower of Christ should never be without Christ Jesus.

If you run across anything from a church leader, an evangelist, prophet, or preacher that claims following Christ and yet never mention Jesus by name, then distance yourself from that person.

2 thoughts on “Jesus Is Lord!

  1. When I’m at Walmart I have divine encounters with other people. I speak the name of Jesus many times as do they. Last week I spoke to a lady as I passed by. I didn’t engage her. I didn’t speak His name to her. I then understood I passed up an opportunity to praise Jesus with another believer. Every thing I need to get through the day & night is in His name. Awaken me oh Lord to or many blessing You have for me. Thank You Lord Jesus.

  2. Thanks Tim for pointing out the fact that not everyone who says they are of the lord is a follower of Jesus the Christ our Lord and Saviour. He who has eyes let him see… open our hearts to the truth of salvation.

Leave a Reply

