Landmarks

Do not remove the ancient landmark which your fathers have set. Prov 22:28

On one of our trips to the Ft.Worth area, Linda and I tried to remember the “back way” we took to where my mom once lived. The place we turned was marked with an old brush arbor. That arbor has long since gone and houses, shrubs, and trees have changed the landscape.
The brush arbor was our landmark and without it we struggle to correctly identify the turn-off.

You have many landmarks in your own life.
Perhaps when you take a trip with your family you tell them things like “I walked past a store that once stood here and got an ice cream after school!”
The kids look out the window only to see a Ford dealership.
But every time you travel that route you tell them the same story of the store while pointing at the car lot.

God set up some pretty sturdy landmarks.
These landmarks stand for virtue, ethics, and morality; landmarks about marriage, self-worth, salvation, relationships, and the way to conduct one’s self.
His landmarks stood for years, clearly seen by humanity.
Many today call these landmarks outdated and ancient – no longer applicable for today.
However the plat showing these landmarks still exists – the Bible. Though many try to change the words, retranslate its meaning, and restrict its use, the Bible stands the test of time.

“For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, and make it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; it shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.” Isa 55:10-11

One thought on “Landmarks

  1. I think of some people as land marks. There is a pastor at KSWP, I’ve known for many years. In fact that’s where I met him & wife. He is steadfast, veritable, trustworthy, funny and my friend. Then there is Vicki. When I see her I know I’m in the right place…no matter where we are. These are pillars of faith, and reflection of the love of God. I would find it up setting if these land marks were to change.

Leave a Reply

