Blemishes

They are spots and blemishes, carousing in their own deceptions while they feast with you, having eyes full of adultery and that cannot cease from sin, enticing unstable souls. 2 Peter 2:13-14

Last time I used the scripture “she should be holy and without blemish.”
The word “blemish” stuck in my mind.
A blemish is defined as a small mark or flaw that spoils the appearance of something.
I remember commercials that talked about facial blemishes. These blemishes flawed an otherwise smooth face. They were ugly and brought a conscientious shame to the one having them.

Someone recently told me of the actions of another, formerly a member of my church. I was shocked at what was said and it hurt me that someone [formally] connected with my church could say and do such things.
Not only that but that former member names Christ as Savior, yet their actions speak the opposite.
The actions of this person is a blemish on my church.
Shamefully, this type of person fills the churches of today.
Paul faced this problem in the Corinthian church saying, “I, brethren, could not speak to you as to spiritual people but as to carnal, as to babes in Christ. I fed you with milk and not with solid food; for until now you were not able to receive it, and even now you are still not able; for you are still carnal. For where there are envy, strife, and divisions among you, are you not carnal and behaving like mere men?” 1 Cor 3:1-3

Carnal relates to fleshly pleasures and worldly actions. It is the opposite of spiritual actions.
Carnality in the church is a blemish.
Your actions result in consequences and reactions for good or bad. Bad actions produce bad consequences, which are blemishes.
This is a problem within the church! How can Christ present to Himself a church holy and without blemish (Eph 5:27) when so many in the church live carnally?
It reflects bad on the church and bad on Christ.
This is the reason you are encouraged to not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. Rom 12:2

One thought on “Blemishes

  1. What is it that keeps a person from growing in Christ? Is it dwelling on what the world has thrown at them? Is it not being personally strong enough to stand up for self? I suffered under that last one for years. Now I just don’t receive the condemnation, and speak up for my self. I have found the Lord to be a percent help at such times. ( A soft word does turn away wrath)

Leave a Reply

