Gather twice as much!

And so it was, on the sixth day, that they gathered twice as much bread Ex 16:22

Then Moses said, “Eat that today, for today is a Sabbath to the Lord; today you will not find it in the field. Six days you shall gather it, but on the seventh day, the Sabbath, there will be none.”
Now it happened that some of the people went out on the seventh day to gather, but they found none. Ex 16:25-27

It’s funny how we do not listen to God. In the case of the manna, the bread from heaven, the people were to gather it six days during the week. On the sixth day, each person would gather twice as much so it would last through the Sabbath.
This did not work any other day but the sixth! Try it on the other days and the next morning the manna was rancid and ruined.
Regardless of God’s command, some went on the Sabbath to gather manna, which wasn’t there!

A time comes in which God will rest from salvation, that is to say time ends in which salvation is offered.
There are some putting off salvation believing they can “pick it up” at any time – kind of like those going out to pick up manna on the Sabbath.
It is written there remains therefore a rest for the people of God. Heb 4:9
When that rest comes, a type of Sabbath day, there is nothing to do. It is a time of rest!

Flip that around! Today is a day for you to gather for the Lord – to go out and share the Gospel of Christ. That day of rest is coming and with that day there is nothing to gather!
For those that do not know Christ, it is a day to be gathered!
For those that know Christ, it is a day to gather!
With Christ’s return so close, perhaps it is a day to gather twice as much!

2 thoughts on “Gather twice as much!

  1. Human nature hasn’t changed.
    From the Gospel of Luke.
    Luke 12:16 And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully: 12:17 And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits? 12:18 And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods. 12:19 And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry. 12:20 But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?

  2. My platform has been reduced to F.B.. Maybe twice a month I get to go to Walmart that’s where I’d address those the Lord leads me to. Of course church on Sunday. F.B. posts & advertisements rattle my peace. Many times I through in my two cents based on the Word of God. A few respond positively. It’s unimaginable to me the things people are dong. I have taken time away from it. Perhaps it’s time to return. I’ll let God determine the ground. I do know His Word will accomplish it’s work and will not return void. Pray for me. I get so angery at their awfulness.

Leave a Reply

