How shall you answer?

But how can a man be righteous before God? If one wished to contend with Him, he could not answer Him one time out of a thousand. Job 9:2-3

You will stand before God! It is written and it is so! His word declares it and holds true.
When He asks you to give an account of what you did while living, how shall you answer?
It is at that moment you fully realize the brevity of life and the enormity of eternity.
You want to live in peace and happiness for eternity but at that moment you stand before God and must answer.

Job asked a good question – How can a man be righteous before God?
Job later had to answer his own question when God questioned him. (c.f. Job 38-39)
His only reply, “Behold, I am vile; What shall I answer You? I lay my hand over my mouth. Once I have spoken, but I will not answer; Yes, twice, but I will proceed no further.” Job 40:4-5

You may formulate how you would answer God on judgment day but those words will fail you. The words of a song come to mind:

Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine.

A Christian has only a little taste of the holiness of God. You may feel His presence through the Holy Spirit but it pales in comparison to standing in His presence.
How shall you answer Him?
To know Jesus as Savior is to have an Advocate and a Mediator before God the Father. (1 John 2:1, 1 Timothy 2:5)

Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them. Heb 7:25

Leave a Reply

