What do you treasure?

A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. Luke 6:45

Take a moment to answer to yourself each question.

First, what is it you treasure most?

Do you consider it good or evil?

What do others think about it?

What do others think about you?

Is your treasure something that will last a long time or fade away?

Does what you treasure have an influence on others or just you?

Do you think about the Lord God at all?

Your greatest treasure will show itself in how you act and in what you say.

Today some are getting up and thinking about evil; another drug fix, an affair, or monopolizing more money. There are people whose thoughts are on enslaving, killing, hurting, gossiping, lying, hating, stealing, manipulating, and on and on.

I got up this morning praying and reading my Bible. I began to think about the scripture from Luke.
I know there are others like me, whose heart and mind are set on God early today. To think about God early is to think about Him all day. I find that a treasure.
Like me, many think about working today, whether it’s around the house, in the yard, or a business. I’m not out to hurt anyone but to improve my life, my family’s, and encourage a few others along the way as I work today. I find that a treasure.
I’m thinking about returning home to my wife, maybe sitting on the front porch in the late evening hours, and enjoying time with her. I find that a treasure.
My relationship with Jesus (my salvation), my wife, and my family is my treasure.

Leave a Reply

