The Fruit of Salvation

Therefore be patient, brethren, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, waiting patiently for it until it receives the early and latter rain. You also be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand. James 5:7-8

As I read the scripture this morning I had a thought.
I mean no disrespect to God’s word that says I should be patient until the coming of the Lord and compares that to the farmer waiting for his garden to grow.
My only thought was this – the farmer can fairly predict when a fruit or vegetable is going to be ready.
The farmer can watch the plants grow, the blooms appear, and the fruit of his labor appears and begins to slowly ripen.

Right now there are little pears on the tree in my yard. I know those pears will be ready to pick at the end of August or the first of September.
I see the pears.
I know the month they’re ready.
I must patiently wait three months.
But I don’t know the day of the coming of the Lord.
I have a day I’m looking forward to but don’t know what day that is!

On the other hand while I see hundreds of pears on the tree that doesn’t mean I’ll get to pick all of them.
Birds peck at the fruit, wind gusts shake some loose causing them to fall to the ground, and insects bite the skin to get at the juice inside.
A hail or wind storm could knock all the pears off the tree and I would not harvest any.

No matter what – Jesus is coming back.
I’m waiting patiently to enjoy the fruit of salvation!

One thought on “The Fruit of Salvation

Leave a Reply

