Learn to do better!

Obey those who rule over you, and be submissive, for they watch out for your souls, as those who must give account. Let them do so with joy and not with grief, for that would be unprofitable for you. Heb 13:17

(NLT- Obey your spiritual leaders, and do what they say. Their work is to watch over your souls, and they are accountable to God. Give them reason to do this with joy and not with sorrow. That would certainly not be for your benefit. Heb 13:17)

I spoke with someone that had left the church. I asked the reason and was told, “They are too judgmental!”
I know how this individual is living and I’m able to see how a problem would arise.

Let’s back up a moment and run a rabbit trail. You’re fishing and catch a 9-inch crappie and put it in the live well. I tell you that you need to throw it back in the water because the legal length in Texas is 10-inches.
Am I judging you?
Am I intolerant?
Or am I holding you accountable to the laws of the State of Texas?
Perhaps you believe that only a game warden should tell you about the correct size!
Trust me; you don’t want the game warden catching you with undersized fish!

There are certain things Christians should not do, “let it not even be named among you, as is fitting for saints.” Eph 5:3
Spiritual leaders in the church should help others by holding them accountable. And spiritual leaders should also be held accountable as was the case of Paul with Peter.
Gal 2:11-when Peter had come to Antioch, I withstood him to his face, because he was to be blamed.

Church leaders are spiritual teachers that help correct you when you make a mistake. You’ve dealt with this your entire life; that’s what teachers do!
I remember doing a math problem and the teacher telling me I was doing it wrong. I was embarrassed but I did not pack up my books and leave the class because the teacher was judgmental!
I learned to do better!

Leave a Reply

