Recognize the spirit

Nevertheless I have a few things against you, because you allow that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophetess, to teach and seduce My servants to commit sexual immorality and eat things sacrificed to idols. Rev 2:20

Someone once told my wife, “You have a Jezebel spirit in your church!”
When I think of Jezebel, I think of a painted up woman worshipping idols.
I think of a jealous woman.
So I thought to myself, “Is there a husband stealer in my church?”
But that’s not it at all.
A Jezebel spirit is a seductive spirit that leads you away from God into sin.
It comes into your church having a form of godliness but denying its power. 2 Tim 3:5
It boasts many great things of what God has done but denies the power of God.
It can be a man or woman!
The spirit talks a lot and that talk turns into self-glorification… I did this and I did that. I once had this happen… I once went there… I had that happen to me!
If you give a testimony in the presence of a Jezebel spirit, it will feel the need to one-up your testimony with a “better” one.

You first defense against any spirit is recognition! You must see it!

Imagine you are in California riding a mountain trail on a bike. Suddenly you are grabbed from behind and dragged off the bike and into the brush.
It was a mountain lion that you did not see.
Now what if you are biking and you see the lion crouching up ahead, waiting for you to ride by?
You stop and look at it. You yell and maybe throw some rocks.
Chances are the mountain lion would slowly leave, having lost the element of surprise.
You identified that it was there and let it know you know it’s there.

Identify the spirit and let it know that you know!
Put on your full armor of God, stand, and pray. God will deliver you from the spirit.

One thought on “Recognize the spirit

Leave a Reply

