Temporary and Eternal

The glory of young men is their strength, and the splendor of old men is their gray head. Prov 20:29

In my younger days I liked to show off. I wasn’t necessarily the fastest or the strongest but I did what I could.
I could walk on my hands and do flips without using my hands. I remember being with the church youth one time and doing a handstand on a chair.
Today my swiftness has run away.
I no longer do flips or handstands – I’m just thankful to be able to walk on my feet!
The days of my youth are far behind.
Now I sport gray, most of it in my goatee.
With it has come some wisdom.
No one remembers my handstands or flips. No one makes a comment on the way I use to play volleyball.
But many remember a sermon I preached. Others recall when I led them to Christ.
I have discovered that the things I do for God are remembered more often by those affected by it.
Strength and agility are temporary. God’s work is eternal.

Leave a Reply

