Plenty of Time

To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven:
A time to be born, And a time to die; A time to plant, And a time to pluck what is planted;
A time to kill, And a time to heal; A time to break down, And a time to build up;
A time to weep, And a time to laugh; A time to mourn, And a time to dance;
A time to cast away stones, And a time to gather stones; A time to embrace, And a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to gain, And a time to lose; A time to keep, And a time to throw away;
A time to tear, And a time to sew; A time to keep silence, And a time to speak;
A time to love, And a time to hate; A time of war, And a time of peace. Eccl 3:1-8

Someone said to me the other day, “I ran out of time!”
I thought about that phrase and how often I have used it.
No one truly runs out of time because time keeps on going. The clock ticks around to midnight and begins the cycle all over again of ticking around to midnight.
What you run out of is a presupposed allotment of time allowed to perform a particular task.
I cleaned up the purple martin houses yesterday but ran out of time to mount the poles back in position.
The time since I cleaned up the houses to the moment of this writing: 15 hours!
Fifteen hours is plenty of time to get the bird houses mounted but I had an allotted time for church and for sleep.
When I got up this morning, I already scheduled all my time for coffee, breakfast, news, Bible study, prayer, and driving to work.
I hope to squeeze in some time this afternoon to get the houses back up!

There are people that live for years and years and yet, in all that time, they never found time for Christ.
Before they realize it they truly run out of time and there is no more allotted time to do anything, including salvation.

It reminds me of a song from Connie Smith called Plenty of Time

I got up on Sunday morning went to the church at ten
I listened to the words I’d heard time and time again
The preacher spoke of sinful lives it seems he spoke of mine
But I was young I have plenty of time
I walked on down life’s pathway living as I wished to live
How to beat the other fellow how to get what life could give
Making money isn’t sinful having fun is not a crime
So I’ll just wait I’ve got plenty of time
Plenty of time to decide where I’m bound to eternal darkness or to heaven’s grounds
I’m just a young girl not yet in my prime so I’ll just wait I’ve got plenty of time
Before I knew what happened life seems had passed away
And millions stood before God’s throne for it was judgement day
Now eternal darkness beckons and the name it calls is mine
But I thought that I had plenty of time
Eternity waits I’ve got plenty of time
To think of all the days that Christ could have been mine
Now my chance is over earth’s days have left behind
You and I have plenty of time now I’ve got nothing but plenty of time

Leave a Reply

