God is Love!

He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. 1 John 4:8

I recently heard someone defend a sin by ending with the statement “God is love.”
It is true – God is love!
It is also true – I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments. Ex 20:5-6

It is true – God is love!
It is also true – My wrath will become hot, and I will kill you with the sword; your wives shall be widows, and your children fatherless. Ex 22:24

It is true – God is love!
It is also true – His anger was aroused. So the fire of the Lord burned among them, and consumed some in the outskirts of the camp. Num 11:1

It is true – God is love!
It is also true – He will also say to those on the left hand, ‘Depart from Me, you cursed, into the everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels: Matt 25:41

It is true – God is love!
It is also true – anyone not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire. Rev 20:15

It is true – God is love!
It is also true – “Jacob I have loved, but Esau I have hated.” Rom 9:13

God’s love is faithful and true. His love is so great that He gave His only Son for a sinner like me. I judged myself a sinner and in need of salvation. I believe and accept the sacrifice His Son did for me and the life I now live, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.
This is the love of God – God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Rom 5:8
God’s love is not a blank check to live as you wish or to live in sinfulness. God’s love is given so you can live in the righteousness of Christ.

Leave a Reply

