Hyssop

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Ps 51:7

On the night of the first Passover, God instructed the Israelites to take a bunch of hyssop, dip it in the blood that is in the basin, and strike the lintel and the two doorposts with the blood that is in the basin. Ex 12:22
The hyssop is a sturdy plant that could withstand being used a a type of paintbrush. It was used to dip in the blood of the Paschal lamb and mark the doors so that the death angel would pass over those homes.
I’m sure the used hyssop was thrown away that night or the next day, never to be used again.
Though another lamb would be sacrificed a year later and every year after, there is no indication that hyssop was ever used again in this way, though it was used in some other ceremonial cleansings.

Many years later, Jesus, the Lamb of God, would be crucified on a cross and the hyssop showed up again.
Jesus said, “I thirst!” Now a vessel full of sour wine was sitting there; and they filled a sponge with sour wine, put it on hyssop, and put it to His mouth. So when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And bowing His head, He gave up His spirit. John 19:28-29

David asked to be purged with hyssop so he would be clean.
You, too, can be purged with hyssop and be clean, washed, and whiter than snow.
The hyssop of Passover, giving the purging that only comes through the redemption Jesus provides from the cross.

One thought on “Hyssop

  1. Years ago I knew an elderly woman. She loved Christ so, all any had to do was watch & listen to her. Talk about having enough evidence to convict a person. The older she got her obvious question was, how can GOD love me? The more I learn of God I ask the same question. He is so Holy, so beautiful…yet He gave up His wonderful Son for me. I had blood dawn…5 painful pokes. I thought of the crown of thorns He wore for me & that I would never feel the pain of one of them as He did. The pain eased & the blood came. How I love Him ! The tec. was sober & said anyone else would have been ugly with her for hurting them.

Leave a Reply

