Understanding Lot a lot more!

And delivered righteous Lot, who was oppressed by the filthy conduct of the wicked (for that righteous man, dwelling among them, tormented his righteous soul from day to day by seeing and hearing their lawless deeds) 2 Peter 2:7-8

There are times I dwell on something the Bible says.
This is one of those times.

Righteous Lot!
I saw that and stopped. I thought about where he lived, which Peter also mentioned.
Lot lived in the city of Sodom, where much wickedness existed.
Pride, fullness of food, and abundance of idleness; neither did she strengthen the hand of the poor and needy. And they were haughty and committed abomination. Ezek 16:49-50

All of it bothered Lot. He seemed helpless to do anything about it. It tormented him to know the truth of God and see the sinfulness of men. When he began to tell of the coming destruction, they thought he was joking.

Look at today. I live in the same world full of the same sin that destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah – pride, gluttony, idleness, lack of caring for others, arrogance, and committing “abominations”.
It bothers me to see people living frivolously in sin – dwelling and reveling in it.
Some think of me as a joker or fool when I speak of the coming of the Lord and the days of judgment.
When I share God’s gift of salvation to them, I am thought of as intolerant and judgmental to even think they need some sort of salvation.

Now I understand Lot a lot better!

Leave a Reply

