Cursing Swearing – Confessing Salvation

Then he began to curse and swear, saying, “I do not know the Man!” Matt 26:74

Jesus told Peter he would do it. Peter thought he could resist the temptation to deny His Lord. He didn’t. He couldn’t. It caught him by surprise.
He did the unexpected – he denied three times that he knew Jesus.
Not only that, but he did it with cursing and swearing.
Think of the worse, foul language you could use against Christ and you know what Peter must have said.

More will do the same thing some day.
They will stand before God in judgment. They will begin to curse and swear. They will then say as a confession, “I do not know the Man!”
Their cussing is not directed at God but at themselves as they realize they do not know Him as Savior. They have no forgiveness of sin having passed on the grace offered to them.

Put away your cursing.
Put away your swearing.
Take the gift God has given to you – the gift of Salvation through Jesus Christ.

One thought on “Cursing Swearing – Confessing Salvation

  1. I seek the Lord’s forgiveness often. I have found though that asking my self, Is this what goes through Jesus’ mind? helps to halt my emproper thoughts. I am so glad Jesus is willing to receive my pleas & strengthen my mind & give me a change of heart. Without His help we could not live the right way. Thank You Lord.

Leave a Reply

