Sons of God

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? …When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?” Job 38:4, 7

A question came to me from a Facebook friend about the phrase “sons of God”. The question was to whether this refers to people or angels.
It’s a great question and I don’t have all the answers but I do have a Bible based opinion.

In Job it must refer to angels since they would have been the only created beings around at the time of the foundations of the earth.
Job starts off with “Now there was a day when the sons of God came to present themselves before the Lord, and Satan also came among them.” Job 1:6
I believe this, too, means the holy angelic hosts, though I do not believe Satan is counted as a “sons of God” in this instance.
Think of it this way, the Dallas Cowboys came to the store and Tim also came among them.
That doesn’t mean I’m a Dallas Cowboy, I was just with them, so I think Satan was just with them.

Sons of God can also refer to people.
Rom 8:14 – or as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God.
Gal 3:26-For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus.
Matt 5:9-Blessed are the peacemakers, For they shall be called sons of God.

That brings another issue from Gen 6:1-2: Now it came to pass, when men began to multiply on the face of the earth, and daughters were born to them, that the sons of God saw the daughters of men, that they were beautiful; and they took wives for themselves of all whom they chose.

Many believe it is fallen angels referred to as “sons of God” and they are procreating with “daughters of men” (women).
I disagree, since I believe the fallen angels (demons) would no longer be called by the term “sons of God”.
I do believe these are the un-fallen angels, which would still be holy and in good graces with God.
Jesus said, “For in the resurrection they neither marry nor are given in marriage, but are like angels of God in heaven.” Matt 22:30
If angels (sons of God) are not married or given in marriage, then in Gen 6 they would be sinning by committing fornication. So I don’t believe these are angels but people.
The sons of God are those seeking God and His righteousness.

Sons of God refers to those that are holy before God, whether angels or people.
Become a “son of God” today. Accept Jesus as Savior.

One thought on “Sons of God

  1. Humm, you’ve covered areas I also have questioned. Just like others I have my own opinion. I have concluded it will take someone who can read Hebrew & Greek before I’ll be swayed. In any case this answer has little to d
    o with my relationship with my Savior. So until God decides to inform me, it’s OK to believe it either way. Let’s just glorify Christ together.

Leave a Reply

