Quickly

Rev 22:20 – He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming quickly.”

A time reference is defined by the person saying it more than how others hear it and define it themselves.
Someone told me they could do a job for me pretty quickly. Come to find out it took three days. I guess that’s quick but I was thinking it could be done in one!
Someone once called me, “I need your help! Can you come down real quickly?” they asked.
I walked out of the house, got in the truck, and was at their home within five minutes. It took an hour before they actually needed my help. So our two definitions of “quick” were an hour apart.

What did Jesus mean by that scripture?
Is He saying that He’s coming in a short time or that when He comes it will be very fast?
Considering that He said this almost 2000 years ago, I would venture to say that it’s not a time factor, so that leaves method.
Add to it the words of Paul, “We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed — in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet” (1 Cor 15:51-52) it seems to validate the swiftness of the actual event of Jesus’ return.

The great thing about Jesus coming quickly is that all those born-again get to experience – dead and living. The dead are raised and changed, then the living are caught up and changed.
So even though it takes another 2000 years, He will still do it quickly when He returns.
I can wait! Either way I’m going quickly!

One thought on “Quickly

  1. Amen. I’ve been told that all saints believe that they wont see death cause Jesus will come before it. All most burst my bubble. I do still hope I’ll right.

Leave a Reply

