Toss it in the Fire Pit

Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Phil 3:13-14

I was told this story from my old school friend, Karen.

Several years ago, one of her postal patrons asked her to deliver a package to the back door, upon which she discovered a huge, homemade fire pit on legs.
She was impressed with it and asked him about it.
He told the story of how he, his wife, and two teenage daughters would sit around the fire pit and talk discussing problems and frustrations. Everyone could say whatever they wanted to discuss but all “talk” was thrown into the fire pit. Once it was cast in there they would go into the house never to discuss it again.
In other words – don’t bring worries or discord into the house.

Today’s scripture is along those lines. Paul was determined to move forward and not be held down by the past.
I have discovered that words and talk keep us in the past. People tend to dredge up things long gone; perhaps ideas and thoughts no longer viable.

I’ve done some things in my life but there is no need in anyone holding on to the past. Let’s press forward. Since God has forgiven me and forgotten my deeds, you should too.
Toss it in the fire pit.

One thought on “Toss it in the Fire Pit

Leave a Reply

