Outward Perishing – Inward Flourishing

Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. 2 Cor 4:16

I remember comedian Jack Benny, always claiming to be 39 years old. He used it as a joke but the reality is this – some people are afraid of growing old.
It’s inevitable. It’s happening right now as you read this.
Second by second, minute by minute you are aging.

I often tell people that my peak year was 27. I was in great physical shape – slender, nimble, and quick. Over the past 32 years I have fattened up a bit, loss some dexterity, and I’m not quick anymore.
I no longer engage in the competitive sports I once loved and participated in several times a week.
The outward me is perishing – second by second and minute by minute.

The inward me is renewed. I am not stagnant or decreasing in my spiritual walk with Christ. I am growing every day. I am learning more and experiencing more.
I am a Christian for 41 years, way past the 27 year peak I experienced physically. And I continue to go strong.

A great inspiration for any Christian is Billy Graham. He is well past his physical peak. He no longer does those great crusades of old. He is 97. He moves slowly with a walker and has loss of hearing and sight.
Yet he has influence millions and millions of people. He has preached the message of redemption and millions have responded. Heaven is more populous because of him.
His seconds and minutes will draw to a close but his spirit is renewed daily and his entire being will renew when he takes that last breath.

Embrace your life to the fullest through the work that Jesus Christ will do in you! You may be outward perishing but you will also be inward flourishing.

Leave a Reply

