Grudges are heavy, forgiveness is light

As we practice the work of forgiveness we discover more and more that forgiveness and healing are one. ~Agnes Sanford

Someone who wanted to talk to me as a pastor recently approached me. I have no problem with that, so we found a quiet place where we could talk.

“Pastor, I have a need to forgive someone – someone that did me great harm!”
He went on to explain the hurt and pain the other had done. I found myself relating, for I had suffered the same thing.
He went on to say, “…and I just feel the need to forgive them!”
“Sounds like you just did!” I said.
His eyes cut over to me with a look of surprise.
I continued, “You just did! There is no ceremony to perform. There are no rehearsed words to repeat. Forgiveness is from your heart and your mouth speaks what is in your heart. Forgiveness is what you are feeling right now!”
A broad smile appeared.
“I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted from my shoulders,” he said.
“Grudges are heavy,” I replied.

St. Francis said it this way, “It is in pardoning that we are pardoned.”

Most Christians know that to get forgiveness, one must give forgiveness. (Matt 11:25-26)
But perhaps a young Christian – a babe in Christ doesn’t know this. He was! He does now!

David knew the true meaning of forgiveness. He had many others out to do him harm.
His words summed it up like this: Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Ps 103:2-3

Leave a Reply

