Whose to blame?

Now when Peter had come to Antioch, I withstood him to his face, because he was to be blamed; for before certain men came from James, he would eat with the Gentiles; but when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing those who were of the circumcision. And the rest of the Jews also played the hypocrite with him, so that even Barnabas was carried away with their hypocrisy. Gal 2:11-13

I was repairing some of my geocaches last week. I had pulled over on the grass at the side of the road and was down the hill when I heard a vehicle driving by slowly.
I looked up in time to just see the top of the car pass by and could tell it had emergency lights. I knew it was some law enforcement and figured it to be a sheriff’s deputy.
So I climbed back up the hill, knowing he/she would turn around and see if I had any problems.
Sure enough he turned around but it was a state trooper.
As he pulled up to me I told him, “I knew you’d turn around to check on me. I’m just geocaching and everything is ok!”
He said, “Ok. Have a nice day!” and drove off.

I walked back down the hill and replaced my missing container and returned to the truck.
The trooper was less than a ¼ mile away with a vehicle pulled over.
I told Linda, “I guess that’s my fault!”
You see, if I had not been pulled off the road in such an awkward place the trooper would have never turned around to check on me and would not have caught the unsuspecting speeder traveling in the opposite direction.

But each of us is responsible for our own actions. If the speeder had obeyed the speed limit then he would receive no citation.

Peter was “to be blamed” for his actions in front of some converts. He led them by hypocrisy.
It goes to show you that even the apostles were not without some problems and that even seasoned Christians, like Barnabas, were drawn away by Peter’s actions.

You have enough to be blamed for by your own actions. Don’t be the cause of someone else’s demise. Stand strong in the Lord and pray for good judgment in all your ways.

Leave a Reply

