Sand and Safety

“But everyone who hears these sayings of Mine, and does not do them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand: and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it fell. And great was its fall.” Matt 7:26-27

It is our last morning at Sea Grove Beach in Florida.

Yesterday we spent all day on the beach enjoying near perfect weather. The waves were a bit higher than usual and the current was something everyone fought all day, as it pushed every swimmer down the beach away from their setup.

Late in the day, I sat at the water’s edge and began to push the sand with my feet. Before I knew it, I had an almost 2-foot deep hole with a wall of sand surrounding it. Mind you, this is where the waves will eventually wash it away, but I did not care.
I took one of the sand toys and began to make a row of little castles on top of my wall.
It was somewhat impressive.
Suddenly standing next too me was this little girl, probably about 4 years old. She told me that she liked my castle and that all her daddy built was a pyramid out of the sand.
I looked behind me and saw what had been constructed throughout the day. The pyramid was impressive but not to the 4-year old.
She wanted to know if she could climb down into the hole and the surrounding wall.
I told her she could.
As she sat in the bottom of that hole with the wall higher than her head, she said, “I feel safe!”
The water was not touching her and the waves were not splashing her. She felt more safe in my little by-the-sea castle I made in 20 minutes than she did around dad’s pyramid that he spent all day on.

However, the pyramid and castle will both erode away quickly; mine quicker than his since it is right on the water’s edge.

Many people feel safe with their big house or 401K. People feel safe because they live in a safe neighborhood with security or they are in a big crowd of people. Perhaps you feel safe because you own a gun or your dad is a police officer.

Jesus said that trusting in anything, other than Him, is not safe. It’s as foolish as building a house on sand.
Put your trust in Jesus and feel real safety from the waves of life.

Leave a Reply

