Friends

Do not be deceived: “Evil company corrupts good habits.” 1 Cor 15:33

I had a cousin named Thurman. He was as good as gold. He would give you the shirt off his back. As far as I knew, he had a mild temperament.
What amazed me was his singing ability. I would sit in the church choir with him and listen as he sang any part; soprano, alto, tenor, or bass – he sang them all.

He loved God, church, and people but had one problem – the drink.
He fought alcoholism every day.
He once told me he could just picture himself tilting up a bottle of whiskey and feeling that golden liquid go down his throat.

Thurman’s other problem was the company he kept. These friends would often entice and tempt him with the problem he had.
I have seen them shove a beer in his hands, pat him on the back, and offer him another.

The problem with friends corrupting you – you don’t realize they are doing it. You’re caught up in the moment and they are your friends.

I can honestly say that every friend I have is a God-fearing friend. Each one strives to become better in the kingdom of God. It’s not to say they don’t have trials and temptations but they don’t seek to blatantly act against God.
None of them has tried to corrupt me and I have not tried to corrupt them.

The righteous should choose his friends carefully, for the way of the wicked leads them astray. Prov 12:26

One thought on “Friends

Leave a Reply

