Family and Reunions

Over the past weekend, I had a family reunion on my mother’s side. It’s called the Hook Reunion.

My great grandfather, Ed Hook, and his wife, Mary Ellen Goodwin, had nine children. I’m not sure how many children those children had. I know my grandparent, Alton and Ellie had six but only three survived to adulthood. These days only brothers, sisters, and cousins are alive.

Then on Monday, I ran into another cousin in Walmart, this one on my grandmother’s side. In fact, it was my grandmother’s niece.
While talking with her I realized that I have many family members that I don’t know. I could be standing next to her son and not know or recognize him.

You may say the same thing that you have family you don’t know or recognize, especially since family reunions are becoming a thing of the past and so many of the younger generation don’t bother going, even if there is one.

Do you recall the words of God to Abram (Abraham), “Get out of your country, from your family and from your father’s house, to a land that I will show you.” Gen 12:1

He left Ur never to see that family any more. He became a family unto himself and unto the whole world – a family of God.

After a Memorial Day holiday one of my church members said this on our message board, “Good morning peeps…Back to the real world…have a great day everyone…love my family!”
At Crossroads, we consider ourselves a family. We have a reunion every week; meeting not only with each other but also with the Holy Spirit.
So if you are in the area and you’re looking for a family, I invite you to visit my family at Crossroads.
What makes us a family?
We have the same Father.

Leave a Reply

