An Elevator, Book in the Bible, and a TV Dinner

Just for fun, I did this alphabetical list about myself on Facebook.

A- Age:59
B- Biggest fear: none
C- Current time: 705am
D- Drink you last had: coffee
E- Every day starts with: Prayer & God’s word
F- Favorite song: Your Grace is Enough
G- Ghosts, are they real: I don’t believe in ghosts
H- Hometown: Highlands, Tx (first home)
I- In love with: Linda Evett Swanson
J- jealous of: no one
K- Killed someone?: not yet. j/k NO!
L- Last time you cried?: I teared up last Sunday
M- Middle name: Timothy – means honoring God
N- Number of siblings: 0
O- One wish: to better express an understanding of God’s word
P- Person you last called: Nick at Ergodirect
Q- Question you’re always asked: You’re a pastor?
R- Reason to smile: Salvation through Jesus
S- Song last sang: Jesus is Alive and Well
T- Time you woke up: 0230am
U- Underwear color: I don’t really know.
V- Vacation destination: Hill country of Texas
W- Worst habit: knuckle popping
Y- Your favorite food: German
X- X-Rays you’ve had: 4
Z- Zodiac sign: Taurus

I expected some comments because that is a lot of information. What I did not expect was the one thing that everyone zeroed in on – M – my middle name.

I am called by my middle name; I always have been. I have the same initials as my dad, O. T. S. and he went by his first name. That made my dad and mom to call me by my middle name.
Growing up through elementary and Jr. High I had to endure the occasional slip by a new teacher who would call me by my first name, much to the jeers and taunting by my classmates.
I guess the taunts came because the name was such a surprise to most of the other kids. They always called me Tim.
In some areas of the country, there are no surprises. Whole names are use like Betty Jean, Billy Bob, Susie Mae, etc.
I’m not super protective of my first name, though many adults make me feel like I’m in grade school again.
I often tell people that I was named after an elevator, a book in the Bible, and a TV dinner.

I have used my name my entire life but one day I will get a new name.
You shall be called by a new name, which the mouth of the Lord will name. Isa 62:2
I will write on him the name of My God and the name of the city of My God, the New Jerusalem, which comes down out of heaven from My God. And I will write on him My new name. Rev 3:12

Leave a Reply

