Get rich.

I read this verse in a new light this morning while doing a study on temptation.

Those who desire to be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and harmful lusts which drown men in destruction and perdition. 1 Tim 6:9

At face value you will think it is only about money – the desire to be rich. However, I thought of how each of us desires to be rich in other ways.

Rich is defined as having a lot of money and possessions, very expensive and beautiful, impressive, and having or supplying a large amount of something that is wanted or needed.
Being rich also follows a desire for more of that which a person desires.

It seems a person could be rich in fishing rods or guns, having a large amount and always desiring more. I admit I am that way about a few things.
I also admit that the desire for more things produces a lust for such things, to the point of channeling all thoughts to the fulfillment of acquiring it.

While I may not desire millions of dollars, just because I don’t believe I will ever get that much, I desire a new phone, though there’s nothing wrong with the one I’m using. Or I want another big screen TV just because it’s larger than the one I’m looking at.
Truly it is a temptation and a snare.

It would be better if I desired to be rich in love, forgiveness and charitable acts toward others. Oh, to be rich in understanding God’s word and teaching it to others. How wonderful to be rich in evangelizing the lost.
These things are better than the riches of money, gold, or great masterpieces.

Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy. Let them do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to share, storing up for themselves a good foundation for the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life. 1 Tim 6:17-19

Leave a Reply

