The Embarassing Tongue

I was embarrassed.
Last night in a private message to many church members, I included a picture of a trophy.
Someone had mentioned that I was in the lead, so I thought it would be funny to post a blue ribbon, medal, or a trophy.
The trophy was really small when I found it and it looked normal. It didn’t appear to have any writing on it.
I was wrong.

It became really large and said something I never meant. It was really mild language but not the type of language I use. I don’t normally talk or refer to things like this.
Though I have heard some “Christians” talk using this language (and worse) though out my years of pastoring.

Language and how we view it has changed.
Cuss words once shocking and condemned are now fully accepted, even in the mouth of a Christian.

It’s one way the world has got a toe-hold on the life of many Christians.

The Bible says there is a definable difference between the world and Him.

They are of the world. Therefore they speak as of the world, and the world hears them. We are of God. He who knows God hears us; he who is not of God does not hear us. By this we know the spirit of truth and the spirit of error. 1 John 4:5-6

I’m sure most non-Christians would believe I’m making a mountain out of a molehill. But the change that Christ’s brings to a believer should begin with the mouth. Eph 4:29 says, “Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth,”

Remember what James said about the power of the tongue in James 3:1-12.

You have the power over what you say. You control it or it controls you.

Leave a Reply

