37th Anniversary

Today is my anniversary. Linda and I have been married for 37 years.
We’ve had our share of trials and tribulations but the Lord has sustained us through them all.
I have never hit her or called her names. I don’t fight with her. We are one, according to the scriptures, so why would I hit myself or call myself names.

There are many wonderful things I can say about my wife and I cannot picture life without her, nor do I want to. I pray the Lord raptures us out before death overtakes either!

I was reading the Song of Solomon this morning because it’s a book of love between two people – a husband and wife.
I came upon the 4th chapter where the husband describes his wife’s beauty – at least it must have been a good description way back then!

Behold, you are fair, my love! Behold, you are fair! You have dove’s eyes behind your veil. Your hair is like a flock of goats, going down from Mount Gilead.
Your teeth are like a flock of shorn sheep which have come up from the washing, every one of which bears twins and none is barren among them.
Your lips are like a strand of scarlet and your mouth is lovely.
Your temples behind your veil are like a piece of pomegranate.
Your neck is like the tower of David, built for an armory, 0n which hang a thousand bucklers, all shields of mighty men.
Your two breasts are like two fawns, twins of a gazelle, which feed among the lilies. Song 4:1-5

Like I said, maybe that was a flattering description back then but I’m not sure if I told her she has the eyes of a bird and teeth like sheep; temples like fruit and her neck is like a tower with shields hanging from it. And her chest is like a couple of deer.

Instead I think I’ll just say, “I love you and you are more precious to me than the day we married!”

Leave a Reply

