A Reason to Go to Church

And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. James 5:15-16

At church last night one of the elderly ladies told me she didn’t feel very well. She’d been to the doctor, who prescribed some meds for some of her health issues.

She said, “I just don’t feel very well but I told my husband that I was going to church tonight. He was surprised that I was going so I told him, ‘I can either stay home and not feel good or I can go to church and not feel good. But at church I can get them all to pray for me!’”

What a great testimony!
I know a lot of people that look for an excuse not to do anything. They look for some illness, a slight digestive problem, or a mild headache so they won’t have to go to work, school, or church.
And yet this dear lady used her illness as a reason to come to church.

Paul said, “Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Cor 12:9-10

Find a reason to join the fellowship of church – a reason to praise God in all things!

Leave a Reply

