I want to come home!

I was on vacation for a week and did not write a Morning Thought like normal. I spent the week remodeling a full bath in my house.
That involved tearing out the tub, lavatory cabinet, and the toilet.
The floor needed replacing and a ½ wall was in the way, the door was a narrow 24-inch, and  the wall board was old, ugly and needed replacing.

For six days we worked tearing out the old and installing a new door, a vanity and counter top, wall board, and two piece fiberglass tub and shower. The entire floor was replaced with ¾-inch plywood and a waterproof tile.

It was bone tiring, muscle aching work every day! At night I was so exhausted I had trouble sleeping and tossed and turned most of the night.

For six days we worked and on Saturday I sat down. It was at that time it dawned on me. I had taken a vacation from reading my Bible too.
I had taken a vacation from praying earnestly.
Even though I had attended church on Wednesday evening, I didn’t have to study since one of the others was bringing the devotion.

I was reminded of the Prodigal Son, who, like me, got away from God.
Only for him it took the wasting of all his possessions, the fraternization with prostitutes, the feeding of pigs, and the desire to actually eat pig slop to cause him to pause and think about his situation.
“But when he came to himself, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have bread enough and to spare, and I perish with hunger! I will arise and go to my father, and will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you, and I am no longer worthy to be called your son. Make me like one of your hired servants.”‘ Luke 15:17-19

I could have continued to drift away from God. Not reading the Bible could have become a habit that slipped up on me. Sitting numb each evening and wastefully watching TV program after program could have easily floated me further away.

But like the prodigal I realized my need.
I need the Father!
I repent of my lapse in judgment and mistake.
Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you and I want to come back home!

Leave a Reply

