Birthdays, Weeping, and the Dead

I glanced at Facebook this morning and was immediately reminded of a childhood friend. He passed away over 2 years ago but this morning Facebook reminded me it was Roy’s birthday. I clicked and visited his Facebook page, which is still active.

There were birthday wishes (in heaven) leftover from last year. Other childhood friends writing about childhood experiences with him. One wrote he was listening to ZZ Top at 100 decibels just for old times.

There is, of course, no response from Roy.

Even if I could, I wouldn’t bring Roy back for anything. I am saddened for his wife at her loss and I miss our little chats on Facebook.
In our last chat he told me about his cancer and the chemo he was taking. Round three really knocked the wind out of him, he said.
A few weeks later I got the word he was gone.

He has died once and bringing him back would subject him to the same thing again. I wouldn’t want to do that for anyone.

In my opinion, that may be the same thing Jesus was feeling when His friend died. There are those that say they died and went to heaven but most were only dead for a few minutes.
Jesus’ friend had been dead for four days. That was plenty of time to start enjoying the other side.
Just before Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead it is recorded that Jesus wept. (John 11:35)
Many speculate to the reason why. Some say He cried over the unbelief of those that were around at the time. I’ve heard He wept because of Mary and Martha blaming Him for his death.
I think He wept because He was subjecting Lazarus to die again.

There is an old saying: you can be born once and die twice or you can be born twice and die once.
The first birth is always the physical birth that gave you and Roy a birthday.
The second birth is the spiritual birthday mentioned by Jesus in John chapter 3.
The first death is that which has already touched someone you know or love.
The second death is the one where anyone not experiencing birth number two are cast into the lake of fire. (Rev 20:11-15)

Once again I believe Jesus weeps at the condemnation of so many that rejected Him and are cast into the lake of fire.
We, who have accepted Him as Savior, weep also. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; Rev 21:4

Leave a Reply

