Offended

Last night at church I made the statement that if someone is looking for an excuse to leave church they will find it – they will find an offense.
I’ve had people tell me we don’t use a certain song book or we have drums set up in the church.
When I preach I can be quite animated. One lady said if she wanted that kind of entertainment she would have gone to a coffee house.

Over the years I’ve been in ministry I’ve had teens not come to Sunday school because “mom says you don’t use the Sunday school literature. Instead you teach out of the Bible!”
So I bought the literature and gave it to each of the kids.
They still didn’t come to Sunday school.

Now the latest is this: I would send every one that gave by check a copy of their giving for the year. The check number, date, and amount was on a letter just in case anyone wanted to use it for tax purposes at the end of the year. This information was not shared with anyone. It was very confidential.
One man became offended believing I had sent him a bill and accused him of not paying enough taxes.

Several years ago I use to include some scripture at the top of the letter that contained the giving record.
The scripture was Mal 3:10 – Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, That there may be food in My house, and try Me now in this,” Says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven And pour out for you such blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it.
It’s a great scripture that promises God’s provision, but someone was offended believing I had indicated they weren’t tithing.

Needless to say neither of these comes to our church which proves what is written, a brother offended is harder to win than a strong city, and contentions are like the bars of a castle. Prov 18:19

I’ll include something I’ve learned over the years – if you’re looking to be offended, you will surely find it.

Leave a Reply

