Born Again.

I was born in 1957 to Otis and Billie Swanson. I have no complaints about my childhood. I was happy – up until the divorce. We weren’t rich but I felt love and never wanted for anything. I had a bed to sleep in, clean clothes, and something to eat.

I asked my grandkids if they could be born as someone else who they would choose.
Braeden, the entertaining one, said Channing Tatum. When I asked him why, he responded that he’s rich and good looking.

I will choose who I am over being born anyone else – good looking, rich, or otherwise.

Now consider the case of Nicodemus. To do this you must have the mind of a Jew at that time.
Nicodemus was born into a family of position, power, and money. To be rich was to be blessed. To be blessed, because you’re rich, meant you were going to heaven because only God could bless you with riches.
Imagine his surprise when Jesus told him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” John 3:3

First, why would Nicodemus want to be born-again? What if the next time he came back as a Gentile slave of a Roman procurator?
Second, he was rich, therefore he was blessed, therefore he was assured entrance into the kingdom of God.
But this Jesus tells him different.

His response was simple – “How can these things be?” John 3:9
He did not understand why the need to be born again. And Jesus wasn’t talking a physical birth but a spiritual one. That was even more perplexing.

I do not know into what kind of family you were born – rich, poor, secure, dysfunctional, happy, horrible, large, or small. But I know that you have an opportunity today to be born again. If may not change your family but it will change you and you’ll have a new family – the family of God.

Leave a Reply

