Addictions

I was recently speaking with someone about addictions. There are many, many things that one can be addicted – alcohol, drugs, tobacco products, and food come to mind first. But you could probably add TV, exercise, sex, iPhones, Facebook, Geocaching, and so on.
Anything can become an addiction and some are obviously worse that others.

While I may like Facebook, TV, and geocaching – I can put them down and have before. These things don’t control my life. I don’t spend every waking moment thinking about any of it.

Addictions drive a person. It consumes them to the point they’ll do anything to feed it.
I know of a few people that have been hooked on drugs. They end up in rehab or get arrested and spend time in jail.
Many times when they’re released they go right back to doing drugs.

There is a proverb that says it best – As a dog returns to his own vomit, so a fool repeats his folly. Prov 26:11

I will admit my addictions. I’m addicted to God. I think about Him all the time. I’m addicted to my Bible and think about it all the time. I’m addicted to my wife and think about her all the time.

The conclusion is this: everyone is addicted to something. Some addictions lead to death. Other addictions aren’t bad and some even give life.

Choose life. Get addicted to Jesus. Don’t live without Him.

2 thoughts on “Addictions

Leave a Reply

