A new me – new music

I like to watch American Idol. We’ve been watching it for years, but I realize I don’t know any of the songs the contestants sing. Now if they sing something from the 50’s, 60’s, or 70’s I can recognize it.
But when a contestant says that he/she is going to sing Bruno Mars, Adele, or even Kelly Clarkson – I don’t know the song.
That’s because I don’t listen to that particular genre of music.

When I accepted Jesus as my Savior it changed my musical taste. Face it, they didn’t sing ZZ Top or Credence in church. I got hooked on Southern Gospel music. The Happy Goodman’s, the old Chuck Wagon Gang, the Inspiration’s, and the Nelon’s all took the place of Led Zeppelin and Jethro Tull.

Slowly I developed a crush for more contemporary Christian music.

Now although I work for a Christian music radio station, most of this transformation in me took place before I began working there.
I had no choice to change.
It is written “He has put a new song in my mouth!” Ps 40:3

And there’s more!

Oh, sing to the Lord a new song! Sing to the Lord, all the earth. Sing to the Lord, bless His name; Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day. Ps 96:1-2

It’s hard to proclaim the good news of His salvation if you’re humming a secular song.

Oh, sing to the Lord a new song! For He has done marvelous things; Ps 98:1

I don’t know Bruno or Adele songs because they have not done marvelous things for me!

Let the saints be joyful in glory; Let them sing aloud on their beds. Let the high praises of God be in their mouth, Ps 149:5-6

If you know Jesus as Savior I want to encourage you to listen to Christian music.
There are many Christian stations across the world but I will invite you to listen to my station, which you can listen to on-line and on-air. www.kswp.org

And if you like Christian teaching and talk programs try www.kavx.org.

Either will change your life.

Here is the KSWP LISTEN LIVE link

Here is the KAVX LISTEN LIVE link

There are also iPhone and Android app’s for both!

One thought on “A new me – new music

  1. I always tell people when they are looking for a Church in a new town, to find the Christian Radio and see which Churches support it. Then go from there. I was a rock n roll fan and then worked in Country and Western radio, *now you can tell I am old too* Like you, I no longer listened to modern rock music. I never have been a fan of Country music, for the most part.

Leave a Reply

