Still Hauling

We’re still operating in the “dark age” with our water – filling jugs and water coolers and hauling it all home for use.
I remember visiting my great-grandparents as a child when all water was drawn from a well. I washed in a pan, I bathed in a round wash tub on the back porch, and drank from a dipper hung on the wall.
Somehow that seemed adventurous back then.

I remind myself that people around the world are still drawing water from a well; and that many don’t have clean drinking water like I do. They not only draw water for themselves but for their livestock.
There’s a story in the Bible of a woman named Rebekah doing that.

And when she had finished giving him a drink, she said, “I will draw water for your camels also, until they have finished drinking.” Then she quickly emptied her pitcher into the trough, ran back to the well to draw water, and drew for all his camels. Gen 24:19-20

How long do you think she had to draw water to satisfy the thirst of several camels?

This woman became the wife of Isaac and mother to Esau and Jacob (Israel). She is a picture of the church.
The church is a servant to a thirsty world – sharing the Gospel of Jesus. As much preaching and teaching as has happened in just your lifetime should have satisfied the thirst of everyone and all should be saved.
But they’re not and so servants of Christ keep drawing more from the Well to give to a thirsty world.

I will keep on hauling water to my house, carrying my dishes to the church, and bathing at my in-laws until my water is repaired.
And I will keep on preaching the Gospel to a dry and thirsty world until Jesus returns.

Leave a Reply

