Two Corinthians & Liberty

I just love when people use the Bible to their own means; to make a point that has nothing to do with salvation, repentance, or the glory of Father!
Recently presidential hopeful, Donald Trump spoke at Liberty University. You may have heard the clip – here is the transcript.

“And I asked Jerry, and I asked some of the folks, because I hear this is a major theme right here. But two Corinthians, right? Two Corinthians 3:17. That’s the whole ballgame. Where the spirit of the Lord — right? Where the spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. And here there is Liberty college…. But this is really, is that the one? Is that the one you like? I think that’s the one you like. Because I loved it. And it’s so representative of what’s taken place. But we are going to protect Christianity… And we’ve gotta protect it. Because bad things are happening. Very bad things are happening… If you look at this country, it’s gotta be 70 percent, 75 percent, some people say even more. No matter where I go, we’re having tremendous crowds and we’re setting records…”

Reading it gives more perspective than just hearing it! And in reading it I understand it even less. It sounds like babbling to me, but that’s just my opinion.
Let me make a “fruit inspection” – I’m not sure Mr. Trump has any idea what 2 Cor 3:17 is all about. I’m not sure he knows what the Bible is all about.

He has made the statement that he believes in God but doesn’t need forgiveness saying, “Why do I have to repent or ask for forgiveness, if I am not making mistakes? I work hard, I’m an honorable person.”

If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 1 John 1:8

On Communion he has said, “When I drink my little wine — which is about the only wine I drink — and have my little cracker, I guess that is a form of asking for forgiveness, and I do that as often as possible because I feel cleansed, I think in terms of ‘let’s go on and let’s make it right.’”

Therefore whoever eats this bread or drinks this cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of the body and blood of the Lord. 1 Cor 11:27

As for his statement about two Corinthians – that deals with the veil over the face of Moses and over the Old Testament. That veil is lifted in Christ, Who gives meaning to the Law and the Prophets. When one accepts Christ as Savior, the veil is lifted
Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. 2 Cor 3:17
Jesus Christ sets you free from the veil of darkness to see His glorious light.

I pray that Mr. Trump will see the Light more clearly and give himself wholly to the Lord!

One thought on “Two Corinthians & Liberty

Leave a Reply

