Don’t ask for less – ask for the best!

I missed yesterday! I woke up sick and I guess that’s okay because I went back to bed sick!
But this morning is a different story. I feel 100% better than yesterday.

I was talking with someone recently about illness and told them of the time I had cellulitis in my left arm. I remember lying outside on the porch swing and saying, “I’ve had the flu and felt better than this!”
It’s strange how I wished for a different disease to give me relief.

Why is it we will settle for less?

The rich man in hell did not ask for forgiveness and deliverance.

“Then he cried and said, ‘Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus that he may dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame.’ Luke 16:24

He had nothing to lose! He was in hell! Ask for the best from God. In the case of the rich man it would have been denied – he was dead and it was too late.

But why do you settle for the less from God, instead of the best from God. He is a good, good Father that wants to bless you. A reminder that you can’t shack up with the devil and expect a blessing from God.

And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it. John 14:13-14

When you ask in Jesus’ name that means more than just tacking that phrase on the end of your prayer like it’s some magic saying. It’s asking in the same Spirit that Christ had – asking so the Father can be glorified and testified about!
!

One thought on “Don’t ask for less – ask for the best!

  1. Hello Pastor Tim. I just wanted to let you know I appreciate your blog. I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. You can find out more about the award on my blog. Thank you for making a difference in the lives of so many with each of your posts.

Leave a Reply

