A Poem to Cheer Your Heart

A merry heart does good, like medicine, Prov 17:22

Sometimes you just have to laugh and chuckle; be happy and smile. It’s good medicine.
So today a less serious matter. I want to share something I wrote for fun about the return of Blue Bell Ice Cream to my area.

It’s called –

‘TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE BLUE BELL

‘Twas the night before Blue Bell, when all through the home
everyone was excited the ban would be gone!
The bowls were washed, dried, and stacked on the table with care,
in hopes that Blue Bell Ice soon would be there.

The children were nestled all snug in their beds,
while visions of Dutch Chocolate danced in their heads.
And Mama in her coat, and I in my camo cap,
were in front of the store, where in our lawn chairs, we sat.

When out on the parking lot there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from my lawn chair to see what was the matter.
Peering over a Camry, a Dodge, and a truck,
I looked across the parking lot to see what was up!

The moon was shining on the shopping buggy’s left there,
And the others in line with us began to stand and stare.
Then suddenly it appeared, around the corner it turned,
And on the side I could see the words “slow churned”

There was a little old driver, so lively and quick,
Dressed up all in red and looking like St. Nick.
He drove past the gas pumps and it could be seen
That he drove a truck full of loads of ice cream.

Dutch Chocolate, Homemade Vanilla, Cookies n Cream,
Moo-llennium Crunch and Banana Pudding were seen.
Mint Chocolate and Strawberry, Pistachio Almond too,
Were all on the truck for me and for you!

The St. Nick looking guy pulled up to the dock,
I looked at my watch, it was almost 6 o’clock.
The stockers with carts and forklifts did run
And unloaded the truck looking as if it were fun.

We peered through the store front; eyes wandering inside
To catch a glimpse of the ice cream the stockers stocked with such pride.
The empty freezer shelf quickly filled with flavors of every kind,
And I wanted one of each – I had made up my mind!

Suddenly the manager appeared and slowly walked to the door,
He stood for a moment, hands on his hips, his foot tapping the floor.
Then into his pocket he reached and a key did appear,
And I knew that getting my Blue Bell soon would be near.

He took the key and with a flick of his wrist and a click of the lock
The door was now open – it was just past 6 o’clock.
The crowd of those with me began to move through the door,
Grabbing buggy’s and sales papers as we headed across the floor.

The wife and I grabbed our buggy and headed straight to the freezers
Feeling squeezed by the crowd – like being squeezed with tweezers.
I could see the freezer section ahead of me, it wasn’t that far,
So I bobbed and weaved around the other buggy’s, like I drove for Nascar.

We arrived at the at the freshly packed freezers shelves of wondrous delight
As the frosty glass on the freezer doors sparkled in the store light.
We swung open a door, grabbed a gallon or two,
And realized that two gallons of Blue Bell just would not do.

So we loaded our buggy with flavors of all kinds,
And headed to the check out, where there had form such long lines.
It was soon our turn and we stacked up our stash,
The checker checked our ice cream and we paid with cash.

Then out the door we went skipping all the way to the truck,
With all the delicious flavors, we could not believe our luck.
As we loaded our cartons and cartons in the back seat,
I was glad it was cold out; there would be no melting from heat.

As we drove out of the parking lot there appeared in the corner of my eye
That Blue Bell delivery truck and the St. Nick looking guy.
He sped past me, turned left and he drove out of sight,
Saying “Merry Christmas to all, eat some Blue Bell tonight!”

Leave a Reply

