Avoid Wordly Behavior

What would you have to do to be considered worldly?
Getting drunk would do it but it could take something less.
Gossiping, lying, or cursing could also be considered worldly but it could take something less.

In writing to the Corinthians, Paul addressed a problem in the church that caused a division.

Now I plead with you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment. For it has been declared to me concerning you, my brethren, by those of Chloe’s household, that there are contentions among you. Now I say this, that each of you says, “I am of Paul,” or “I am of Apollos,” or “I am of Cephas,” or “I am of Christ.” 1 Cor 1:10-12

The division and contention was over church leaders and who was following the teachings of who. Some thought Paul hung the moon while someone else preferred the teaching of Apollos or Peter.

This was a worldly problem – bragging and fighting over who they’d believed was the best teacher.

Paul would later call describe this behavior as carnal or wordly.

For when one says, “I am of Paul,” and another, “I am of Apollos,” are you not carnal? 1 Cor 3:4

Contending and dividing is worldly. I think of how many Christians get drawn into dividing the body of Christ over small things.

I guess this is why I despise huge, church wide business meetings. I’ve been in too many where the church was divided down the aisle over some small matter.
The business of the church should be in reaching out to the lost and seeking ways to impact the community for Christ.

I don’t like politics in the church. Politics never saved anyone but has often divided everyone.
I believe pastor’s should be involved in politics by denouncing those policies that are Biblically sinful or wrong but it should not be the main message of any Christian, whether from the pulpit or a post on Facebook. Politics never saved anyone and divisions don’t bring us together.

As Paul said about baptism,

For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect. 1 Cor 1:17

And God has not brought me here to divide His people with trivial matters but to try and bring us all together under the name of Jesus!

Leave a Reply

