Today’s Concern!

Praying also for us, that God would open to us a door for the word, to speak the mystery of Christ, for which I am also in chains, that I may make it manifest, as I ought to speak. Col 4:3-4

What is your biggest concern today?
You may have a deadline to meet at work or some cyber-Monday deals you’re trying to buy and get before Christmas!
It could be getting things ready for that trip later in the month.
Do you feel the stress of work or the holidays?

Last week I was on vacation and I had certain things I wanted to do while I was off.
On Monday I wanted to finish the new plumbing for the house, including getting the new water heater operational and then disconnecting the old water line to the house.
I also had to make a quick trip to Lufkin late that evening to get a new faucet for the kitchen sink.
Tuesday I wanted to install a part on my truck and put up the outside Christmas decorations, while the weather was good, and install the new kitchen sink.
Wednesday I had to install another part on my truck, which repaired it.
Thursday was Thanksgiving and all I was concerned about was eating.
Friday I cut, split, and stacked some more firewood.
Saturday it began to rain and I found it a perfect opportunity to burn a huge brush pile that has been added to for the past three years.

All week long I did not concern myself with doing a Morning Thought at all.
I slept later and worked longer hours to get all the other things done.

In reading this morning I came upon this scripture which shows the apostle Paul’s was concerned about one thing.
Though he was under arrest and in chains, his only thoughts were for an opportunity to preach the Gospel, despite that fact that he was in chains for doing that very thing.

As Christian’s our concern should be an “open door” of opportunity each and every day. I did not go too many places last week and had few open doors to share the Gospel. But as I head back to work today I pray that something I say or do will encourage another to have a closer relationship with God.

Leave a Reply

