To be Pure or not be Pure!

The true Christian feels a moral obligation to virtue, ethics, and morality. This truth is today’s lesson in Paul’s letter to Titus.

To the pure all things are pure, but to those who are defiled and unbelieving nothing is pure; but even their mind and conscience are defiled. They profess to know God, but in works they deny Him, being abominable, disobedient, and disqualified for every good work. Titus 1:15-16

I know not everything is pure. The world is corrupted and filled with those that have bad intentions.
But I think with a pure mind, that is, I think towards the good. I seek out holiness in my own life and try to encourage others to do so.
I guess what I’m saying is I don’t go looking for trouble.

Many others are not like that. They seek trouble. Knowing the difference between right and wrong, they just don’t care. They’ll do wrong if it suits them.
Look at the news and see the number of shootings, road rage, and fights are reported.

I can expect this of those that do not know Christ but Paul addressed it with those that profess to know God.
Many of them feel no obligation to morals but do as they please and yet confess to know God.
Paul is right when he says their works deny Him.
Remember what Jesus said,

Whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven. Matt 10:33

It’s not only the verbal denial of Christ, but many will be denied before the Father because of their living denial in the flesh and spirit.

One thought on “To be Pure or not be Pure!

Leave a Reply

