Holding Fast the Faithful Word

Every time you step into church you are there to not only worship and praise God but to learn His word.

For a bishop must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money, but hospitable, a lover of what is good, sober-minded, just, holy, self-controlled, holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught, that he may be able, by sound doctrine, both to exhort and convict those who contradict. Titus 1:7-9

Holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught!

When I first accepted Christ as my Savior, I was hungry. I wanted to know about His word. I wanted to learn as much as I could.

I went to a Bible college for two years, graduating with an associate’s degree in Bible study.
I never went to a graduate school or seminary. And I have never stopped studying.

Much of what I learned in my early years as a Christian was from the Baptist church I attended. I have stayed true to much of that teaching but since I pastor a non-denominational church, I have expanded the horizon on those things I have learned.

I have become a serious student of the Bible. It is my life. It is written that God’s word is God-breathed and I want to breathe it all in.

I think all Christians should study and learn God’s word. If you are one, you should hold it dear to your heart and life. It should dwell in you. It should be in your thoughts and control your actions.

The shame is that churches are not like a high school class that you go to five days a week for hours a day.
Most churches only get to teach you three or four times a week for a few hours. That means you have to learn on your own.
Television and Christian radio can help when you get to learn from a good Bible teacher.

When you know the faithful word then you will know the lying word and not be deceived by such doctrines and teachings.

Leave a Reply

