Hospitality

When there is room in the heart there is room in the house. DANISH PROVERB

Hospitality is a test for godliness because those who are selfish do not like strangers (especially needy ones) to intrude upon their private lives. They prefer their own friends who share their life-style. Only the humble have the necessary resources to give of themselves to those who could never give of themselves in return. ERWIN W. LUTZER

Fish and visitors smell in three days. BENJAMIN FRANKLIN

For a bishop must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money, but hospitable, a lover of what is good, sober-minded, just, holy, self-controlled, holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught, that he may be able, by sound doctrine, both to exhort and convict those who contradict. Titus 1:7-9

Hospitable!
Given to hospitality and fond of guests.

I don’t know where I rate on this one. I don’t feel like I do very well. I like to talk to people and love for guests to come to my house; even unannounced.

But sometimes I can be preoccupied and fail to attend to my guests. Or I forget to offer them something to drink or snack on.

Peter also used the same word and said,

Be hospitable to one another without grumbling. 1 Peter 4:9

Hospitality is a necessity in any church. I have a few people talk about visiting a church and no one speaking to them. I think that’s a terrible shame.
As a pastor I have always encouraged everyone to greet and meet all visitors.

I’m going to work on my own personal hospitality. When I meet others I want them to see the smiling face of Jesus in me.

Leave a Reply

