Not Giving To Wine

The world is full of alcoholic beverages. Walk into any store that sales it and look at the many varieties and brands. It’s overwhelming.

In giving instruction to Titus, the apostle had something to say about drinking.

For a bishop must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money, but hospitable, a lover of what is good, sober-minded, just, holy, self-controlled, holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught, that he may be able, by sound doctrine, both to exhort and convict convict those who contradict. Titus 1:7-9

Not given to wine!

I’m not given to any alcoholic beverage. The Bible doesn’t prohibit the use of alcohol; even Pastor Timothy was told to use a little for his stomach problems. But many people don’t know how much is too much. If you’re buzzed then you’ve gone too far.

Various interpretations give fuel to those that argue the wine was simply grape juice and others argue it was fully alcoholic.
I’m not here to argue either way. I’m here to read the Bible.

Wine is a mocker, strong drink is a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise. Prov 20:1

Proverbs is full of wisdom on the misuse of wine.

I have observed that some people cannot have a good time sitting and talking with friends without a drink. I may have a coke or sweet tea but that’s not going to alter my character or my ability to reason clearly.

One argument I hear from some Christians that enjoy a drink is Jesus turned water into wine.
Yes, He did. He also healed the sick and raised the dead but I don’t see any drinking Christians pursuing those things as whole-heartedly.

If you truly want to edify Christ then don’t drink. Don’t give a reason for someone to accuse you of being drunk.

On the day of Pentecost when the church was filled with the Holy Spirit, it was said of them,

“They are full of new wine.” Acts 2:13

Peter’s defense was the time of day – it was only nine in the morning. Imagine the strength of that testimony to be able to say, “I don’t drink!”

The choice is yours. I cannot persuade you either way.
I can tell you that several of my aunts and uncles were alcoholics. Drunks! There is too much of that running in my family for me to take the chance that it will control me. So I starve that temptation rather than feed it.

Leave a Reply

