Not Quick-Tempered

I’m continuing something started a few posts ago. It’s Paul’s guide to Titus on the qualifications for a pastor or church leader. But I think it’s a good guideline for all Christians.

For a bishop must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money, but hospitable, a lover of what is good, sober-minded, just, holy, self-controlled, holding fast the faithful word as he has been taught, that he may be able, by sound doctrine, both to exhort and convict convict those who contradict. Titus 1:7-9

Not quick-tempered!

The KJV says “soon angered” so this is about becoming angry very quickly, which many times will show itself in what you say.

I’m pretty good at holding my tongue and my actions and just walk away. That ability does not come easy. Like most I want to defend myself, my actions, or prove I’m right.
Don’t get the idea that I won’t defend myself – I just won’t get angry while doing it.

Anger is a natural emotion. There are many that believe Jesus became angry, especially when He ran the moneychangers out of the Temple. But I never see the word anger used in the text.
Can you run people out of a place without being angry? I believe you can.

But the discussion is not just about anger, it’s about being quick-tempered or soon angered.

Paul would also quote from Psalm 4:4 where it says,

Be angry, and do not sin. Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still. Ps 4:4

Paul used that scripture for the Ephesian church.

“Be angry, and do not sin”: do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil. Eph 4:26-27

To be quick-tempered is to show a lack of discipline. You are the one in control of your emotions and the actions that result from it.
The old adage about counting to ten is probably great advice to follow.

Leave a Reply

