Blessed by Today!

The Southern Kingdom had been held captive for years. But God had a plan to return and restore His people to His Promised Land.
Under the leadership of men like Ezra, Nehemiah, Haggai, and Zechariah the walls were restored, the Law was reinstated, and Temple began construction.

But many of the priests and Levites and heads of the fathers’ houses, old men who had seen the first temple, wept with a loud voice when the foundation of this temple was laid before their eyes. Ezra 3:12

There something to be said about the good ol’ days and that’s what made many weep in Jerusalem that day. They remembered the grandeur of Solomon’s Temple.
There are two things that destroy the comfort of the ol’ days – progress and sin.
Solomon’s Temple was built upon Godly progress.
It was destroyed by the progress of sin.

Sin is never good for a society. It destroys civilization eternally with no beneficial benefits. Although sin can look like economic progress, it will slowly eat away with moral decay and decadence making it all collapse.

On the other hand progress has benefits to industry and the economy but it changes the landscape of neighborhoods, cities, and countryside. Progress outside the will of God can lead to sin and destruction.

Over the past weekend Linda and I traveled back to my old neighborhood. The Jr. High and elementary schools I attended are no longer there. They’ve both been replaced by larger, more modern buildings.
My high school once stood in the middle of a rice field and was seen for miles around. As I sat at the corner of Garth and Baker roads, less than a ½ mile from the school, I never got a glimpse of it. There were too many businesses, apartments, and homes in the way.

Even the home I was raised in was so different I would have not recognized it in a photograph.

Progress has changed my old hometown. I remember the former times and what some would call the good ol’ days.
But I have learned that the good ol’ days are not in the past – they’re in the present and the future.
The past times I had with my old high school friends cannot compare to the years I progress in God since graduation.

No doubt you have seen changes that make you a little melancholy and sad. Changes to your childhood places and old neighborhoods.
But as the men of Jerusalem would discover – it’s better to have a new Temple than no Temple at all.

Though I may feel a little nostalgic at the changes from my past, I am blessed to be where I am today and I wouldn’t change a thing.
Be blessed in the moment of today!

One thought on “Blessed by Today!

Leave a Reply

