Happy Birthday, Paul

I had my 40th High School reunion over the weekend. It was really good to see those I went through high school with and those I went all twelve years with – the elementary and Jr. High classmates.

I saw friends and classmates, some that I have not seen since graduation in 1975.

One of my best friends, Brent and his wife Jan, were there and it’s always a delight to see them. But he was the bearer of some bad news.

It seems last year I heard that Paul Ffrench, an underclassman that I was friends with, had died. I found this shocking and began to try and find out if it was true.
I would Google his name and obituaries but got nothing.
I contacted the high school memorial page to see if anyone else knew anything; and got nothing.

Then I got a Facebook message from Paul, who told me that rumors of his death had been greatly exaggerated. I was relieved. And it was good to hear from him.

However Saturday night Brent informed me that Paul had died of cancer a month ago. We went over the rumor of the last year but he told me that this was no rumor.

Sure enough I found his obituary this time.

When someone dies I often wonder about their spiritual well-being. I wasn’t a Christian in high school and didn’t much care about where others went since I wasn’t too concerned with where I went.
Paul was one of those that was concerned about me. He is just one of many that led me to the Lord.
I can remember his words to me from January 1975 when he was telling me what a relationship with the Lord Jesus would be like.
“You can walk down the hallway and talk with Him like He’s your best friend, Swanson!” were Paul’s words to me.

It is written:

Our God is the God of salvation; And to God the Lord belong escapes from death. Ps 68:20

I know Paul escaped death once, at least the rumor of it. And after reading his obituary I am confident that he has escaped it again through the salvation of the Lord.

One final note, today October 19th, would have been his 58th birthday. Happy Birthday, Paul.

Leave a Reply

