The Mixture

While running another word reference this morning I had my thoughts diverted to another story – a story that convicts me.

Under the leadership of Joshua, the people of Israel conquered the inhabitants of the land of Canaan. They fulfilled the promise to Abraham that the land would be theirs.

Who got them out of Egypt?
Who brought them to the Jordan River?
Who conquered the land for them?

God – the Great I AM.

So who should the people be worshipping?
God – the Great I AM.

So why is it Joshua has to make this statement:

“Now therefore,” he said, “put away the foreign gods which are among you, and incline your heart to the Lord God of Israel.” Josh 24:23

God got them here and yet many are in possession of foreign gods. They either gave credit to statues of wood and stone or mixed the worship of GOD with the worship of false gods.
Either way, their households were a mixture of worship.

I look around and see the same thing is happening today.

I recall from years ago being told that I really needed to finish the sermon closer to noon because the football game started at that time.
Mixture!

If you have a TV in your home then you know how easy it is to allow it to become the center of focus every evening. More attention is given to it than to God’s word. *guilty*
Mixture!

Proclaiming to be a Christian and allowing alcohol, drugs, sex, pleasure, leisure, work, business, school, or anything else to dominate your life or home is a mixture of foreign gods.

If God doesn’t have our full attention then there is a foreign god involved.
In my house – God doesn’t have my full attention.

I hear the words of Joshua saying to me:

choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve Josh 24:15

as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. Josh 24:15

put away the foreign gods which are among you Josh 24:23

It’s time to un-mix!

Leave a Reply

