Put away childish things

I performed a wedding last Saturday evening. In it I read 1 Corinthians 13 – the Love chapter.
I was thinking this morning about the part where the Apostle talked about childish things.

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 1 Cor 13:11

I remember when I turned 12 years old, it was the day I was no longer a child.
I had a great collection of Hot Wheels cars, the track, super-boosters; the whole works.
When I turned twelve I decided that I was no longer going to play with toys. So I boxed everything up and put it in the closet and that was that. I never opened and played with my Hot Wheels again.

I’ve seen children play together and suddenly one will take another’s toy. That child will grab it back and pull on it saying, “Mine!!”
I realize that we [Christians] haven’t put away our taunting of others and our selfishness.

I have watched children throw a temper tantrum when her mom says no to ice cream or candy.
It came to me that we [Christians] haven’t put away our little temper tantrums when we don’t get our way.

My own children have stomped off yelling they don’t want any supper and are not going to eat any.
I know some Christians that don’t come to church because they’ve stomped off saying they’re not going to church and that is that, and so they don’t.

And children can make a mess and walk off and leave it and there it is again, we [Christians] often make a mess and then walk off for someone else to deal with.

“Momma, Bobby keeps looking at me!” becomes “Pastor, Sister Susie won’t apologize to me!”

Put on a cartoon and children will be glued to the television for hours.
Make it a football game, a movie, or a sitcom and we [Christians] will be glued to the same television for hours.

It seems to me that we haven’t quite put away childish things.
When we do, we will find ourselves in the Bible – it is far from childish!

Leave a Reply

